Hawaii and the Tea Market

I was really excited earlier this year when I found out that there was a Hawaiian Tea Tasting at the World Tea Expo back in May. Having lived in Hawaii for 5 years, I consider it a second home and I’m always interested and eager to “talk story” with anyone from the islands.  I was eager to meet the couple who started the plantation and trying to make an entrance into the tea world.

I sat among many professionals and well respected tea peeps in the industry, and I tried not to let their comments sway me while sampling the first batch of teas from the Big Island. I found many of the flavors of the teas sampled young, not as complex as I would like but not bad at all. I think there is tremendous potential. I think that with time, Hawaii will be able to make a statement.

I feel strongly that as a someone in the tea world its important to support new ventures. The husband and wife team out of Honolulu will get mine.

One thought on “Hawaii and the Tea Market

Leave a Reply

